Webtoon of the Week: Just One Smile is Very Alluring

Today as I was browsing the updates on KissManga, I came across a webtoon accidentally! I really liked the synopsis so I decided to give it a chance thinking it was a manga but got really excited when I saw colored pages and realized it was a webtoon. So this week’s “Webtoon of the Week” is Just One Smile is Very Alluring.

just-one-smile-is-very-alluring-21799

Photo: Anime Planet

Here is the synopsis: “LuWeiWei is a top ranked female character in an online game as well as the campus goddess in real life. She gets proposed to by a mysterious man in the game, who is different from the rest. What will happen?” -Anime Planet

I’ve been researching a lot of fantasy webtoons recently and have seen many that have an online game plot and romance tag. It’s a type of plot I haven’t read before so it peaked my interest. Many of the other ones I tried to read, I didn’t like very much so I wasn’t really expecting a lot out of this webtoon. But from the first chapter I was hooked and knew I found the story I was looking for.

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 11.02.16 PM.png

What I really like about this webtoon is the story doesn’t feature as many intense action scenes compared to other one’s I tried to read. In my opinion, that’s what makes it perfect for a romance webtoon. Most of the time the characters are in the game, the webtoon focuses on the growing personal relationships between the characters more than the action itself. I appreciate this because the reader not only gets to see love blossom between the characters offline but online as well. I’m sure as the characters get to know one another more offline some of the drama in the game will increase and the reader will stay engaged because of the relationship foundations that are already established.

I also like that the man who proposes to the female lead in the game is actually her crush in real life. However, it doesn’t seem that they know one another even though they attend the same school. I absolutely love stories where the lead characters have to somehow come together offline to bring their relationship to life. I can’t wait to see their reactions when they realize who the other player is.

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 10.58.44 PM

What’s even more fascinating to me is how the author depicts the male character online versus offline. Offline he is a cold, busy software genius but online he is sweet and seems to really care for the female lead. I’m excited to see these traits transition to him in real life as the female lead gets to know him better and brings them out in him. On the other hand the female lead’s personality in the game is similar to how she is offline. I’m wondering if the two characters are going to meet at school and as they get to know one another more, the male lead is going to realize she is the character in the game.

The art in this webtoon is absolutely incredible! The author does a great job of making the scenes in the game feel both magical and romantic. I can even feel the romance as the main characters fight side by side to defeat bosses. I also like that the author matched both main characters popularity in the game to their popularity offline. It makes for more realistic circumstances when they come together to be a couple.

Moral of the story- check out this webtoon! Read it here

Leave a Reply

